These Broken Stars Review

Hello world, today I’m reviewing These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner.

This was a good book, but it didn’t blow me away. The book is about Lilac, a wealthy daughter of a ruthless business man, and Tarver, a decorated solider. The wealthy and the poor aren’t allowed to mix, with the poor being conscripted and fighting in wars on land, and the wealthy being schooled and brought up on these massive, classy ships.

But then a crash happens. The systems shut down. Tarver and Lilac manage to escape and land on a planet without any population. They have to try and survive together.

“Or else I’m dead, and I’ve ended up in hell after all, and it’s an escape pod with Lilac LaRoux.”

Spoilers ahead

The first thing that caught my attention was the layout of this book. Before each chapter there was dialogue between Tarver and the person interrogating him. This was so interesting as it set you up for what was to come and showed you how they were hiding what really happened after the crash.

“Where will I sit?” Sit? Why, on this comfortable chaise longue I’ve carried here for you in my pocket, Your Highness, so glad you asked. I clamp my mouth shut, struggling not to say it aloud.”

One of the things which annoyed me was the main character Lilac. At the start, she came across as snobbish and stubborn, and it really annoyed me. She just had a near death experience and she was still prancing around in her high heels and refusing Tarver’s help, a guy who has experience in these situations.

“I could tell myself that I’m doing it because she’ll get back to her feet just to spite me—but the truth is, I really just want to piss her off. Keeping her moving is a bonus.”

Tarver was the character everyone was supposed to like, and I did like him, but I didn’t love him.

The romance was nice. I liked how it wasn’t instant, it had to grow. They clashed a lot, until they realised they were a good team.

The reason I only gave this book three stars was because in the middle, I felt like not much was happening, and the pace of the novel slowed down quite a lot, resulting in my losing interest for a while.

“I never knew it was possible to be so miserable in so many ways.”

And then things began to get weird. I found the visions really interesting, but I couldn’t figure out what it was. Tarver thought Lilac was crazy, and so did I. But then the visions were tangible, and they could actually touch them and move them. Super weird.

Major Spoiler ahead

I was really confused when Lilac died. It felt under developed. She dies because of the fuse, but then the planet brings back a copy of her. And then there’s the rift. I still don’t really understand the fleeting moment when Tarver jumps towards it with her and she returns to normal.

“And there it is, against all hope, like the sun peeking out from behind the clouds. The smallest hint of a smile.”

One of my favourite parts was the character development of Lilac. She goes from someone who dressed in fine clothing to someone who is strong and brave and believes in herself. I really liked her transformation into a better character.

“For a moment the image before us is frozen: our world, our lives, reduced to a handful broken stars half lost in uncharted space. Then it’s gone, the view swallowed by the hyperspace winds streaming past, blue-green auroras wiping the after-images away. Until all that’s left is us”

Overall, the book was good, but it’s not a favourite. There were too many things left unanswered for me. I give it three out of five stars

Have you read this book? Let me know what you thought in the comments below.

If you liked this post, be sure to follow my blog and if you want, you can also find me on instagram and twitter.

Little Fantasy Land


2 thoughts on “These Broken Stars Review

Leave a Reply

