January Wrap Up

Hello world, how are we all today. This is my first wrap up of 2017 and I’m excited to say it was a very successful month. I’m finally out of my reading slump!

 In January, I read FOUR books, they were;

  • The Midnight Star, by Marie Lu ★★★★

I stared reading this book in December but I was unable to finish it in time. This is the last book in The Young Elites trilogy. It follows Adelina on her journey for vengeance and I love this trilogy. However, I this this was my least favourite book, I just wanted more Magiano scenes because he’s my favourite, but I still really liked it.

  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, by J.K. Rowling ★★★★

Having saw the moving and received the book in my Christmas book haul and saw the beautify cover I had to read this. I really enjoyed the script format, it was a refreshing change. I loved the descriptions of Newts creatures too!

  • Frost Like Night, by Sara Raasch ★★★

This is the final book in the Snow Like Ashes trilogy. I adore book one and two but I was a little underwhelmed with this book. The books follow Meria, an orphan whose home, Winter, is dying. Apart from the fact that I totally forgot who Jesse was (which is important and never happens to me!) I sort of predicted the ending. We knew how it was going to end, it was mentioned in almost every chapter, so to have it end like that wouldn’t have made for a satisfying ending. It’s a good trilogy, the last book just had a spark missing, for me.

  • A Monster Calls, by Patric Ness. ★★★★

When I saw the movie trailer, I was shocked my how emotional I was, so I knew I had to read this. This is not my usual type of book, but I picked it up anyway. The story follows Connor who’s mum is extremely ill. There were times when I felt emotional, but I didn’t physically cry. I really enjoyed the writing style though.

That’s it, all the books I read in January! I hope you enjoyed this. Be sure to let me know what books you read in January in the comments down below.

If you liked this post, be sure to follow my blog and if you want, you can also find me on instagram and twitter.

Little Fantasy Land


6 thoughts on “January Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

