January Book Haul

This month, I spotted a book sale online and decided to treat myself. No only did I get some pristine books, but I also saved loads of money.

 

The books I bought were;

  • The Percy Jackson Series, books one to five, by Rick Riordan
  • A Monster Calls, by Patric Ness
  • Poldark, books one and two.

 

I’ve been talking a lot recently about how much I want to read Percy Jackson, so when I saw them on sale, it was a no brainer, I had to have them. 

 When I stumbled across the trailer for A Monster Calls, I was taken back by how much it touch me emotionally. I’m not someone who gets upset watching films, but it hit me. When I saw the book on sale, I knew I had to read it.

 I admit, the Poldark books were a fangirl purchase. Not only are they the TV series editions, but there were super cheap. As a huge fan of the show, I instantly bought them. I’m not sure if I’ll read them soon, but I’ll definitely give them a try.

 Well, there you have it, my January Book Haul. Don’t forget to let me know if you’ve read any of the books above, and if you bought any books this month.


7 thoughts on “January Book Haul

  1. I read and loved A Monster Calls. I’m not a fan of Percy Jackson at all. The ADHD rep is horrible and the mythology isn’t the greatest. I highly suggest reading the Argonautica by Apollonius before reading Sea of Monsters. Sea of Monsters is pretty much a retelling of The Argonautica, and not that great either.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Riordan didn’t copy the Argonautica with Sea of Monsters, it’s just that Sea of Monsters is a horrible retelling in my opinion. I don’t want my opinion to affect your decision on reading it though.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

