Truthwitch Review – non spoiler

In December, I read Truthwitch by Susan Denard, and I’ve got some mixed feelings about it. So, what better way to express them than write a blog post. 

 Truthwitch was recommended to me by a trusty source so it was instantly something I had my eye on. What appealed to me was the foundations of the story, the fact that it was build on the friendship Susan Denard has with Sarah J Maas, my favourite author.

If you don’t know anything about Truthwitch, here’s the goodreads summary; On a continent ruled by three empires, everyone is born with a “witchery,” a magical skill that sets them apart from others. Now, as the Twenty Year Truce in a centuries long war is about to end, the balance of power-and the failing health of all magic-will fall on the shoulders of a mythical pair called the Cahr Awen.

The biggest thing on Safi and Iseult’s minds is saving money for their planned future in the Hundred Isles. Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the emotional Threads binding the world. Safi, on the other hand, is a Truthwitch-she always knows when a person is telling a lie. A powerful magic like that is something people would kill to have on their side-or to keep off their enemy’s side-and so Safi cannot even admit what she truly is.

With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and a ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must rise above their doubts and fight to learn who they are and what they are made of, if they are going to stay alive and preserve the balance of their world.

“If you wanted to, Safiya, you could bend and shape the world.”

For me, this book had great potential and was something fresh and new. My only problem was that I wasn’t captivated by it, I didn’t feel the impulse to pick it up at every spare moment I got. After contemplation, I believe this to be because I didn’t connect to any of the characters. Yes, I loved Merik, okay, Aeduan too, but I just didn’t feel the connection. I thought Iseult was interesting, and Safi strong, but I had issues. I found Safi to be quite annoying at times when she was being stubborn and not thinking before she acted, but I get that was part of who she was, I just hope she’ll learn and grow from it. 

“Oh, the Bloodwitch named Aeduan was no longer bored. No longer bored at all. And now he had work to do.”

On a brighter note, I really enjoyed the scenes with Aeduan. He’s really interesting and I loved reading from his perspective. Nothing beats a good villain. 

Merik is a wind witch, meaning he can bend and shape wind to his will. This was my favourite type of Magic we got to see, and I loved the descriptions Denard gave us.

“Merik turned away, pretending not to hear. Not to care. But the truth was, he did hear and he did care.”

 One thing I don’t understand is the whole obsession with truth witches. Apparently, they are supposed to be some rare kind of witch which are valuable because people can use them to find out who to trust. But then, Safi mentions that even though she knows when someone is lying, it doesn’t mean she has to tell the truth, therefore, her power isn’t really useful if Safi doesn’t have to tell the truth?

 In the end, I gave Truthwitch 3.5 stars. I’m not going to rush to read Windwitch, but I will pick it up. It’s not a bad book, I just think it had too much hype and not enough answers. 

“Sometimes justice was all about the small victories.”

That’s all my non spoiler thoughts on Truthwitch. Sorry for all the negativity, it’s not hate, just my opinion. I’d never purposely write horrible things about books, but if I said I loved every book I read and didn’t have any problems with them, would people trust my reviews? I don’t know, but I wouldn’t trust theirs if they weren’t honest. 

 Have you read Truthwitch? Let me know your thoughts and feelings down below.

 I hope you all have a wonderful day, thank you so much for reading.

If you liked this post, be sure to follow my blog and if you want, you can also find me on instagram and twitter.

Little Fantasy Land

 

 


3 thoughts on “Truthwitch Review – non spoiler

Leave a Reply

