Least Favourite Books read in 2016

Every year we read books, some we love, others we dislike. I want to start this off by saying that in no way am I directing hate to authors. Each author who has published a book deserved credit. No only is it difficult to write one but it takes years of planning and editing, writing and rewriting . The books on my list are not bad – they are all well written and grammatically correct. They are on this list because I did not make a connection with them, they didn’t captivate me or maybe the style just wasn’t my taste. You can like these books, I can dislike them, and we can still be friends.

So, without further rambling, here are my least favourite reads of 2016.

·         Salt, by Nayyirah Waheed

I love poetry, so after reading Milk and Honey I decided to buy this, but I just didn’t connect with it.

·         Great Expectations, by Charles Dickens

I decided to try out come classics this year and see how I got on, but this one just didn’t work for me. I didn’t connect with the characters and was really tempted to leave it half way through.

·         Hollow City, by Ransom Riggs

I wasn’t the biggest fan of Miss Peregrines Home for Peculiar Children but when the movie trailer came out and there was loads of hype about this series, I decided to give the second one a go, but unfortunately, it just wasn’t for me.

·         Fallen in Love, by Lauren Kate

·         Rapture, by Lauren Kate

·         Unforgiven, by Lauren Kate

This year I learned that if you read a series and don’t like it, you don’t have to continue. As you can see from the three Lauren Kate books, I pushed myself to read them all. I loved Fallen and Torment, but after that I no longer felt connected to the story.

·         The 100, by Kass Morgan

Wanting to read the book before the show, I decided to read this and see what all the hype was about. I didn’t enjoy this as flashbacks aren’t really my thing. However, despite this I am a huge fan of the TV show and always recommend it to friends who are looking for something new to watch.

·         Slated, by Teri Terry

This was a total cover by. I love the cover, but unfortunate, I didn’t connect with any of the characters, so I will not be continuing with the series.

That’s all the books I gave one star to this year. By no means did I set out to offend anyone, so if you love these books, then that’s fine, I’m happy that you found something to read that you loved!

Let me know in the comments down below what book(s) you rated one star this year.

If you liked this post, be sure to follow my blog and if you want, you can also find me on instagram and twitter.

Hope everyone has a happy New Years Eve tomorrow!


Leave a Reply

