Books of the Months

For those of you who don’t know, Book of the Month is segment on my blog where I recommend under hyped books.

Somewhere down the line of reading, homework, outlining my first novel (which I finished doing as of 29/11/16 so I can finally start writing next year) I forgot to upload Book of the Month for September, October and November. I’m so sorry! Instead of spending the rest of my days scolding myself, I have decided to recommend three underrated books this month.

 

Starcrossed

By Josephine Angelini

Published May 31st 2011

Goodreads rating 4.08 stars (based on 53,018 ratings)

My Rating – ★★★★★

How do you defy DESTINY? Helen Hamilton has spent her entire sixteen years trying to hide how different she is – no easy task on an island as small and sheltered as Nantucket. And it’s getting harder. Nightmares of a desperate desert journey have Helen waking parched, only to find her sheets damaged by dirt and dust. At school she’s haunted by hallucinations of three women weeping tears of blood… and when Helen first crosses paths with Lucas Delos, she has no way of knowing they’re destined to play the leading roles in a tragedy the Fates insist on repeating throughout history. As Helen unlocks the secrets of her ancestry, she realizes that some myths are more than just legend. But even demigod powers might not be enough to defy the forces that are both drawing her and Lucas together – and trying to tear them apart.

 

Once you get past the first fifty pages this book will take you on an amazing adventure. Honestly, I’ll never get over how much I feel in love with this world. You have to read this trilogy!

starcrossed

 

The Awakened

By Sara Elizabeth Santana

Published December 1st 2015

Goodreads rating 3.9 stars (based on 337 ratings)

My Rating – ★★★★★

Zoey Valentine is concerned with two things: surviving the multitude of self-defense classes her dad makes her take and avoiding Ash Matthews. That is, until the Z virus hits, wiping out a third of the population in a matter of weeks. If that weren’t frightening enough, the bodies of the victims disappear and suddenly reappear, awakened from their dead state. They’re faster, smarter, and they work together to get the one thing they crave, human flesh. The United States is in a panic and then the government decides the unthinkable: to bomb every major city overrun with the awakened. Now Zoey is on the run, with her dad and Ash, desperate to find a place of safety amongst the ruined remains of the country.

 

This book is so underhyped and it is amazing! The characters, the world . . . perfect. This book is perfect! Book two comes out next year and I am so impatient to get my hands on it!

2940153720777_p0_v1_s192x300

 

The Rain

By Virginia Bergin

Published July 17th 2014

Goodreads Rating 3.46 stars (based on 4,205 ratings)

My Rating – ★★★★★

It’s in the rain…and just one drop will kill you. They don’t believe it at first. Crowded in Zach’s kitchen, Ruby and the rest of the partygoers laugh at Zach’s parents’ frenzied push to get them all inside as it starts to drizzle. But then the radio comes on with the warning, “It’s in the rain! It’s fatal, it’s contagious, and there’s no cure.” Two weeks later, Ruby is alone. Anyone who’s been touched by rain or washed their hands with tap water is dead. The only drinkable water is quickly running out. Ruby’s only chance for survival is a treacherous hike across the country to find her father-if he’s even still alive.

 

This book is literally incredible, I read it the week it came out and I fell in love with it. It’ll make you laugh, cry, and the writing style is different from a lot of YA, making it super interesting!

the-rain-virginia-bergin

 

Thank you so much for taking your time to read this, and I hope you’ve enjoyed my 2016 Books of The Months!

You can see my previous books of the month here;

July

August

If you liked this post, be sure to follow my blog and if you want, you can also find me on instagram and twitter.

Thank you for taking time to read this.

Little Fantasy Land

 


3 thoughts on “Books of the Months

Leave a Reply

