November Wrap Up

In November, I managed to read three books. I didn’t read for a whole week and a half due to a homework overload before my January Exams.

The Books I read this month were;

  • Melody’s Key
  • Graceling
  • The Raven King

 

Melody’s Key, by Dallas Coryell 🌟🌟🌟🌟

This book was sent to me by the author Dallas Coryell – thank you! I wrote a review for him which you could find here. This is young adult romance which is perfect to curl up with. I enjoyed this book, it’s not something I would usually read, but it was very refreshing. Dallas Coryell is a really good and underappreciated author.

 meldoys-key

Graceling, by Kristin Cashore 🌟🌟🌟 

I’ve heard that this book is really different and unique, so I picked up a copy and I wasn’t overwhelmed by its greatness. The story follows a young girl who has two different coloured eyes, meaning she is graces with a talent. These graces can range from singing to fighting, and the story takes place across seven kingdoms. She meets another graced fighter, and together they have to try and protect their world. It’s an interesting idea, and the writing style reminded me of Jane Eyre, which was weird as it’s all about killing people(this may be because I audiobooked some of it though…) It’s a good book, but I don’t know if I’ll finish the series as I don’t really feel inspired to pick the rest of the books up.

grace

 

The Raven King, by Maggie Stiefvater 🌟🌟🌟

First of all, I have a love – hate relationship with this series. I hated The Raven Cycle. After a year, I read the Dream Thieves and gave it five stars – it mainly focused on Ronan, my favourite. Blue Lily Lily Blue disappointed me and earned three stars, and then we have the Raven King. If you guys follow me on Goodreads you’ll have seen my review consisted of “I don’t get it” because I don’t. Now, before you all hate on me, I am the biggest fan of Maggie’s Shiver series, which a lot of people hate, so I have nothing against the author. It was just long winded, predictable and did not capture my attention. There’s not much I can say without spoiling what happens as it is the last book, but it follows Blue and three Raven Boys as they go on a quest to find a Welsh King.

trk

 

Well, that’s all the books I read in the month of November, let me know what books you read and if you have read the books above.

If you liked this post, be sure to follow my blog and if you want, you can also find me on instagram and twitter.

Thank you for taking time to read this.

Little Fantasy Land


9 thoughts on “November Wrap Up

  1. I kind of want to start The Raven Cycle but it doesn’t seem like anything special – the synopsis reads like any other fantasy novel and I’m getting bored of reading the same rehashed plot elements over and over again. The Graceling sounds interesting too but I’ve noticed a lot of authors like writing about special characters with different coloured eyes – so, so many authors, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Graceling was good but nothing to get excited about if I’m being honest. The Raven Cycle, for me, was all about the characters. If there wasn’t so much character building and development I wouldn’t have read all four books. The plot is nothing amazing, it’s quite slow

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I still haven’t finished The Raven Boys or Graceling. I couldn’t get into either of them. I tried about 4 times with TRB and couldn’t do it. Graceling I think I would have to be in the right mood to read again. It wasn’t a bad book I just wasn’t into it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel the exact same way about The Raven Boys series and the raven King was just meh… I mean I liked it I guess but it was either confusing or predictable or annoying. I didn’t really like the The Raven King as a end book it just felt like the story was working up to something epic and it never got there 😦 Ronan is my fave character as well but I do love Blue too 🙂
    I really liked Graceling and I think it’s mainly because I picked it up and had never heard anything about it so I was surprised at how fun it was. The new book is a companion so Katsa and Po aren’t in it but I really enjoyed the second book so hopefully if you pick it up you’ll like it a bit better 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I totally agree with what you said about the Raven King, I’m so glad I’m not the only one who thinks so! Ronan and Blue, aren’t they amazing! I think I just seen too much hype for it that I expected it to be something it was not, it’s a good book though, just didn’t blow me away. I’ll look into to that book, thanks

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same same the hype was huge, I mean I seen people saying they loved it more then Harry Potter and I was just like Wha?? and went and got the series straight away XD The characters are fantastic though I just didn’t care for how the story was structured I think 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

