Interview: Benjaminoftomes and Rebecca Ethington

This week, I had the amazing opportunity to interview Booktuber Benjaminoftomes and author Rebecca Ethington who wrote ‘Kiss of Fire’ which is a young adult fantasy. Thank you so much Ben for organizing this with me!

 

Firstly, I asked Ben some questions . . .

 

Can you tell us what Kiss of Fire is about? 

“It is a about a girl finding out about her true destiny. A girl who always has hidden behind baggy jumpers and worried that people would see the strange mark on the back of her neck. Its about a girl who is thrown in the middle of a war that has been brewing for centuries.”

 

What was it about Kiss of Fire that made you fall in love with it?

“The writing. The writing was so strong, Rebecca’s voice as an author truly shines through and makes the reading experience great. I also love books about a character finding out they are special in some way. I suppose it was my dream as a kid to find out I had powers, so reading it is my way of experiencing it.”

 

Who’s your favourite character?

“WYN… You have to read to see why. She is really sassy as well which always helps.”

 

Can you summarise your feelings about this book in three words?

“OH MY GOSH”

 

Why should people read Kiss of Fire?

“One, you are supporting an incredible indie author. Two, the book is pleasurable to read and has the most adoring fans waiting to welcome you to the family of Imdalind. And Three, because the story is so unique, strong and… well, may give you some heart palpitations and break downs.”

 

 

And then, I got to ask Rebecca Ethington some questions too . . .

Where does your inspiration come from?

“From everywhere really. I’ve been inspired by songs, by moments in my life or the lives of those around me. By weird things that happen when I’m at work (I work with two years olds – so you better bet that weird things happen). But mostly I would say that I am influenced by the stories that I want to read. If a story hits my head, and I can’t find it – you better believe that I am going to write it – and write it better than I thought I could.”

When did you decide to become a writer?

“I never actually decided to become a writer – it just kind of fell into me. I have always written things, short stories, scripts, I journal a lot. But when it was time for my grandfathers 95th birthday I wanted to get him something really special. He owned a bookstore for many years, and my grandmother always loved my stories; so I wrote him a book. The rest is history.”

Who was your favourite character to write about?

“To write about? Probably Ryland. I always said that if this story was about anyone other than Joclyn – it’s probably about Ryland. The journey that Ryland goes through is heart wrenching and tragic, and one that I really enjoyed telling.”

What was the hardest scene to write?

“There is a certain death scene in Crown of Cinders that is especially tragic and hard. Obviously I can’t go into much more than that, but you’ll know it when you read it – and I hope you cry too – because I know I did.”

How long did the writing progress take? Do you have any tips for aspiring authors?

“This is a tough question for me to answer, because I have had a lot of life changes in the past few years that have made things very difficult. My books also tend to be twice as long as many others, so that impacts it as well. As for tips from inspiring authors – it would honestly have to be to just keep writing. I know it sounds trite, but its actually the most important thing you can keep doing. Write, and take as many classes on writing and read as much as you can. Everything else will slowly fall into place.”

Has your writing process changed from when you started your first draft?

“Not really, I have a pretty stringent writing system that I use, from plotting to character development to timing, to editing. I follow it to a tee – and it hasn’t failed me yet. I may have tweaked it a long the way, but large changes, not really.”

Do you read your book reviews? How do you deal with bad or good ones?

“I actually have a pretty stringent rule not to read reviews. Reviews are actually written by readers for other readers, they contain information that will help other reader decide if a book is (or is not) for them. I employ beta and alpha readers to give me feedback during the writing process – but I don’t touch reviews. They can literally mess with your head.”

 

That’s all the questions and answers! This was my first time doing it and it’s different from what I usually do, so let me know your thoughts down below!

Another huge thank you to Rebecca and Ben for being amazing!

You can download Kiss of Fire for free or purchase a physical copy  here

Ben also made a fan quiz which you can do here

If you liked this post, be sure to follow my blog and if you want, you can also find me on instagram and twitter.

Thank you for taking time to read this.

Little Fantasy Land


2 thoughts on “Interview: Benjaminoftomes and Rebecca Ethington

Leave a Reply

