How to complete your Goodreads Reading Challenge 2016

In October, I completed my Goodreads Reading Challenge of 52 books. Having done that two months early, I decided to come up with a list of some tips and tricks to help anyone out there who hasn’t finished yet. I’m not saying ‘these are the things you have to do to finish on time!’ but they helped me, so maybe some of them will help you too.

Tips;

  • Dedicating time
  • Audio Books
  • Size
  • Prioritize
  • Targets
  • Motivation
  • Multiple books

 

Dedicating Time

The most successful way to complete my reading challenge was to have set times for reading. Each evening, I dedicate at least half an hour to reading while I’m in bed before I sleep. Not only does this help me relax and sleep better, but it also guarantees that I’m going to make some progress with my reading. Another time you can do this is weekend mornings when you don’t have work or school.  You can also read while you eat meals, carry a book around in your bag in case you have some time to kill during the day, or even read an ebook on your phone or kindle. These short reading sprints will all add up and help you reach your goal!

 

Audio Books

I only discovered I was an audio book fan until recently. I’ve always frowned at the idea, scolding it for not being ‘proper’ reading, but after finding one I actually enjoyed, I’m hooked. You can get books on audible, or free apps which let you listen to free classics if that’s what you like. This allows you to read while you’re on the train into town, the bus to college, a road trip or even while you get ready! This was especially helpful for me as I get bad motion sickness and cannot read while moving. If you audio book while reading another book at home, you’re effectively reading two books at once.

 

Reasonable Sized Books

Obviously, if you read books that are only 600+ pages then you’re taking up twice the amount of time to read an average sized book. By reading books sized 300-400ish pages, with the occasional large book thrown in, you’ll read faster.  Also, some authors release short companion ebooks to go with novels – they count as books on Goodreads, even if they’re only just over 100 pages.

 

Prioritize

If you’re aiming to read more, then you’re going to have to make sacrifices. Spend less time watching Netflix and less time scrolling through Facebook, Tumblr and other social medias just to pass some time. Just finished a TV show and about to start another one? Wait and read a book instead. More time reading means more books being read. You’ll get that reading challenge finished in time, and it’ll be worth it.

 

Set Yourself Targets

This is another one I find really helpful. One of my targets is to try to read a book a week – hence the 52 book reading challenge. Other times, I’ll have a quiet afternoon and decide to aim to get 100 pages read. I don’t always reach my targets, because I don’t like putting pressure on myself, but I’ll always make sure I come pretty close. If you like having something to work towards, then this is a great tip for you.  Also, make sure you don’t set yourself a crazy reading challenge on goodreads, like 300 books, cause that’s almost one a day. Be realistic, in the end, reading should be enjoyable, not rushed too much.

 

Motivation

Try to stay motivated, especially when all you want to do is curl on the couch and eat crisps or morn fictional characters for weeks on end – yes we’ve all been there, I feel your pain. If you find yourself not motivated, have a look at how your goodreads friends are getting on with their challenge, that’ll motivate you. Seeing them almost reach their goal will encourage you to strive to do the same. You could also check out wrap up posts – I know when I’ve only read two books one month and someone else has read five it makes me determined to read more.

 

Multiple Books

This works for some, and doesn’t for others. I, personally, like to read one book at a time, unless I’m listening to an audio book. I don’t really like reading more than one book at a time because I get confused, and yet, when I done so one month I read five books which was pretty good for me. For this one, its trial and error. I only do it when I’m reading a novel for school and still want to read one at home.

 

So that’ll all of my advice about completing your Goodreads challenge! If you have any questions, feel free to ask them below and if you found any of the tips useful then please leave a like and tell me which one words best for you in the comments.

If you liked this post, be sure to follow my blog and if you want, you can also find me on instagram and twitter.

Thank you for taking time to read this.

Little Fantasy Land


5 thoughts on “How to complete your Goodreads Reading Challenge 2016

  1. Great advice!
    I have slowed down because of school, but before that I used to read a book/day to every two days. My goal has always been 100. Last year I beat it by 19 or so books, and so far this year I have beaten it by 50 or so books. I try not to pressure myself but to congratulate my accomplishment…I think if people start low, and then beat their challenge early, it’s cool to see HOW much you can beat it by. I almost upped my goal but decided it was better to see how much I could surpass it.
    Congrats on making your goal!! Keep up the good work! 😉👍

    Like

      1. Nah, I didn’t read quick: when your work has you answering phones and you have a slow day, you can read a lot! 😃 But I don’t have that job anymore…and now I’m in school. I can barely finish a book in three days now. 🙁

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

