October Wrap Up

I’m not going to lie, I’ve was a really slow reader last month, and will be this month, due to other commitments that don’t include books. I did, however, manage to read three amazing books.

  • Daughter of Smoke and Bone
  • A Torch Against the Night
  • Crooked Kingdom

 

Daughter of Smoke and Bone, by Laini Taylor.

This book was so weird and wonderful and I loved it. The only issue I had was the instant romance, but I let it slide, since everything else was beautiful. I’m currently writing a review for this book, so keep an eye out for that in the next week or so! Overall, recommend this book to everyone who loves reading and I give this book

Goodreads summary; “Errand requiring immediate attention. Come. The note was on vellum, pierced by the talons of the almost-crow that delivered it. Karou read the message. ‘He never says please’, she sighed, but she gathered up her things. When Brimstone called, she always came.” In general, Karou has managed to keep her two lives in balance. On the one hand, she’s a seventeen-year-old art student in Prague; on the other, errand-girl to a monstrous creature who is the closest thing she has to family. Raised half in our world, half in ‘Elsewhere’, she has never understood Brimstone’s dark work – buying teeth from hunters and murderers – nor how she came into his keeping. She is a secret even to herself, plagued by the sensation that she isn’t whole. Now the doors to Elsewhere are closing, and Karou must choose between the safety of her human life and the dangers of a war-ravaged world that may hold the answers she has always sought…

 

A Torch Against the Night, by Sabaa Tahir

I found this book difficult to rate. There were moments when reading that I was like ‘this deserves five and a half stars!’ and other moments when I was like ‘hmm this deserves about four stars.’ So much happened in this book, and I can’t say a lot without spoiling it. It follows Laia, Elias and Helene and they all have their own personal journeys that intertwine with each other. This book does contain a love triangle; however, it’s written really well and doesn’t bother me at all. I highly recommend reading the first book and I already know it’s going to be on my best books of 2016! Overall, I give this book

Goodreads summary; Elias and Laia are running for their lives. After the events of the Fourth Trial, Martial soldiers hunt the two fugitives as they flee the city of Serra and undertake a perilous journey through the heart of the Empire. Laia is determined to break into Kauf—the Empire’s most secure and dangerous prison—to save her brother, who is the key to the Scholars’ survival. And Elias is determined to help Laia succeed, even if it means giving up his last chance at freedom. But dark forces, human and otherworldly, work against Laia and Elias. The pair must fight every step of the way to outsmart their enemies: the bloodthirsty Emperor Marcus, the merciless Commandant, the sadistic Warden of Kauf, and, most heartbreaking of all, Helene—Elias’s former friend and the Empire’s newest Blood Shrike. Bound to Marcus’s will, Helene faces a torturous mission of her own—one that might destroy her: find the traitor Elias Veturius and the Scholar slave who helped him escape…and kill them both.

 

Crooked Kingdom, by Leigh Bardugo

Oh my, this book was wonderful. I read the grisha trilogy, and gave it four stars, I read Six of Crows and gave it four stars. Crooked Kingdom blew my mind! The plot, the characters, the writing, the laughter the pain, it is such an amazing novel and I cannot recommend it enough. I ugly cried – a thing I rarely do while reading. This book is up there with ACOMAF for me, one of the best books I have ever read in my life. Again, this is the second and final book, so there’s not much I can say, but it is about six characters in the grisha universe that go on a deadly heist to become rich, but lets just say it’s got its twists and turns. Overall, I give this book

Goodreads summary; Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and left crippled by the kidnapping of a valuable team member, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of magic in the Grisha world.

That’s all the books I read last month, if you read any of them, let me know donw in the comments below. What was your favouite October read?

If you liked this post, be sure to follow my blog and if you want, you can also find me on instagram and twitter.

Happy Reading

Little Fantasy Land


4 thoughts on “October Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

