Scarlet – Book Review and Discussion

Taking place in France and being a retelling of Red Riding Hood, we follow the character of  Scarlet – who always wears a red hoodie – who is a very strong willed character. I didn’t realise that we would still be following Cinder from her side of the world as she works with the criminal Throne to try and find Michelle Benoit – Scarlet’s grandmother  – who is said to be able to help her. The story has many action packed scenes and is  fast paced and just brilliant.

I had some issues with minor things but apart from that I was a really great read. I don’t want to spoil anyone reading this who hasn’t read Cinder (book one of the Lunar  Chronicles) but if you’re looking for something with a twist in a fantastic sci-fi world with amazing characters you’ll definitely want to pick this up!

DISCLAIMER – SPOILERS AHEAD.

There were times where I wasn’t too sure of Scarlet but I came to love her. She is  eighteen years old has a fiery passion which causes her to take risky decisions and  ‘act first think later’.  Focused on saving her grandmother and only really conversing about her  grandmother didn’t really leave any room for us to find out more about her and what she’s like with this pressure and fear lifted from her shoulder.

 

One of the things that annoyed me but I understood her reasons for – was attempting to blame Cinder for everything  that has happened at the end. Scarlet had just assumed that Cinder had always  known she was the princess rather than just three days.

I loved watching the relationship unfold between her and mysterious Wolf who is also a

new character with supernatural abilities, like heightened sense of smell and hearing, he can also jump incredible far and run super-fast. I was a little confused as to why Scarlet didn’t seem weary or even try to ask him why he has all of these weird abilities , she just accepted them which was a little  unnatural for myself. The only thing I have mixed feelings on in terms of their relationship is the insta love at the end. I liked watching Wolf come out of his shell and reveal more of himself (despite still keeping secretes like that fact that he’s a genetically modified alpha Lunar) but at the ending  when they were talking about alpha females and Scarlet being the only one for him – “you are the only one”, it felt a little rushed. I like them together,  but I would be happy to wait for that moment to turn up later on – it was a little forward  for me.

 

“I would rather die because I betrayed them than lived because I betrayed you.”

 

One of the things that I didn’t realise about this book was that Cinder and Scarlet’s stories  intertwine. I loved Cinder in this second instalment, she was so sassy and brave but human.

It was so horrible to read the scene where she finally finds  Scarlet’s grandmothers home and she sees he photographs of the damage the Queen done to her to make her a cyborg. It was so heart-breaking and really began to kindle Cinder’s passion to save her people from her horrible  Aunt. It’s just lovely to see her still fighting and not being torn down by all the social media hate and the hunting parties trying to find her.

Alongside Cinder, we have the new character Throne. Honestly he was my least  favourite character out of the main four but I still really enjoyed him, I really appreciate the light heartiness he brings along to the story. He’s a really humorous character with  arrogance. It’s really amusing to read about all his ‘blonde moments’ when Iko started  talking to him and when he still didn’t realise that Cinder was the princess with it was so  obvious. Despite not being overly fond of him I am looking forward to seeing what he  brings to the team in the next instalment Cress.

 

A relieved grin filled up Thorne’s face, “We’re having another moment, aren’t we?”

“If by moment, you mean me not wanting to strangle you for the first time since we met,

then I guess we are.”

 

I really liked that we got to see Kai throughout the novel. It was so sad to see him  struggling with the pressure of being emperor, with the fact that he needs to find Cinder  but he wants her to be free, with the Queen threatening and then going to war. In the end when he finally agrees to marry the Queen it’s so devastating to watch Cinder’s reaction  this sacrifice as now he is likely to be a slave/prisoner to the Lunar Queen. I really hope they save him soon!

 

“He knew that Levana wouldn’t hesitate to dispose of him as soon as he served his purpose. But he

had to stop these murders. He had to stop this war.”

 

The ending was amazing! I loved the action scenes between Ran and Wolf, how Cinder saved  the day and the Scarlet saved her. Even Iko joined in the action. We get to see the  Lunar’s being controlled and wolf struggling with the impulse to kill Scarlet. We really get to see the whole team to work together and it really just got me excited for what’s coming  next. We see a glimpse of Levana training new warrior wolfs so we know something big is  going to happen soon.

 

“I’m going to be stronger than she is [ . . . ] and then I’m going to stop hiding.”

 

So there you have it, all my thoughts and feels on Scarlet? Have you read it, let me know  in the comments below?

 

Scarlet, by Marissa Meyer

 

Little Fantasy Land


4 thoughts on “Scarlet – Book Review and Discussion

Leave a Reply

