July Wrap Up

Hello readers!
So, in the month of July I read 5 books! I’ve been really busy this month so I didn’t get all the books read that I wanted to but without further rambling, here are my thoughts and feels on my July reads.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.
I know people are going to hate me for this, but this book didn’t really blow me away. Don’t get me wrong, I love Harry Potter and the world J.K. Rowling has created, but because of having previously watched the films countless times, I didn’t have the anticipation of wondering what was going to happen next and that, for me, took away some of the joy of reading this book. I know it’s my fault, having spent my childhood watching the movies but I fear I’m not going to enjoy the rest of the books as much as I could have.
★ ★ ★

The Dream Thieves
I am SO SUPER HAPPY that I continued with this series. For me, I did not enjoy The Raven Boys at all last summer; in fact, I gave it one star on Goodreads. The only thing I enjoyed about the first book was the dark and mysterious character known as Ronan Lynch. Deciding to give this series a second chance (and hoping I loved it as much as the shiver trilogy) I was so happy when I found out the story was all about Ronan! Having said that, the book got off to a slow start but all the characters grew on me and I fell in love with all of them. It’s safe to say I will be continuing on with this series.
★ ★ ★ ★

Rebel of the Sands
This was a really enjoyably read for me, I’m not going to go into too much detail as I wrote a spoiler free review on it which can be found in the REVIEW section (I’ll also leave a link down below)
★ ★ ★ ★

Six of Crows
This book has been on my shelf since October and I have to admit, I was hesitant to read it. Don’t get me wrong, I loved Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo, but Seige and Storm and Ruin and Rising were not what I wanted. Yes, I loved them and gave them four stars, but I felt they lacked compared to the five star first instalment.
For me, I was very difficult to get into Six of Crows. I didn’t particular love Kaz and Inej – they’re good characters, but I couldn’t connect to them in any way. And then Nina and Matthias were introduced. They made the book for me, I loved having a Grisha along, and Nina is such a bold, patriotic, independent young woman who I connected to and looked up to. Matthias is a warrior, one of my most favourite type of characters to read about. The fact that their stories were interwoven just topped it all off for me – a adored learning about their past (especially loved the fact that they’re hatred towards each other was not romance related) and seeing them interact with each other. I also really enjoyed reading about Wylan and Jesper and Leigh Bardugo created some really tense scenes!
★ ★ ★ ★

The Darkest Part Of the Forrest
Okay so I have mixed feelings about this book. I enjoyed it but wasn’t captivated, so I gave it three stars. But then I started to think, yes it was a stand alone so everything had to get wrapped up, but it seemed sort of pointless – like everything that I expected to happen going into this book happened , so I wasn’t surprised or shocked. Also, I couldn’t connect with any of the characters and the whole story and plot felt sort of aimed towards the younger readers of YA. I’d change to 2.5 stars , but I hate half rating so I guess I’ll be generous
★ ★ ★

I’m currently reading In the Afterlight by Alexandra BrackenI’d hoped to get this finished in time for the end of July but I’m only half way through and I’m really enjoying it, so I don’t want to rush. You’ll have to wait until next months wrap up to find out what u rate it !

And that’s it! What books did you read in July? Have you read any of the ones I mentioned ? Let me know what you think down below, through direct message on Instagram or Twitter, or even email!

Hope you had a good reading month !

Little fantasy land


7 thoughts on “July Wrap Up

  1. So much fantasy! I also love that edition of Harry Potter, though I’m sad you didn’t enjoy it that much. I read Rebel a couple months ago and I was actually quite disappointed in it. Glad to hear you liked it more than me though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I must admit, fantasy is my favourite genre. I’ll continue with the Harry Potter series, hopefully I’ll get back into it! Rebel of the sands wasn’t what I was expecting, I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy it that much !

      Like

  2. Aw, I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy PoA! That’s my favourite book in the series. I definitely understand it’d be a difference experience growing up with the movies instead of the books though. I’m so glad you enjoyed The Dream Thieves!!! That’s another favourite of mine 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a huge potter fan, but knowing what happens and not enjoying the books as much as I could is so frustrating! I’ll continue though… I adored the dream theives! I’m so happy I gave the series’s a second chance☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

