June Wrap Up

In the month of June, I read a total of six books! They are ;

Hollow City , By Ransom Riggs.
I wasn’t a fan of the first book, but because of the hype, I decided to continue on with the series. Unfortunately, these books weren’t for me.
Hollow City ★

Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets, by JK Rowling
I’m finally continuing with this series, I really enjoyed getting all of the extra details and was surprised that I enjoyed it despite having already seen the film and knowing the end.
Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets ★ ★ ★ ★

Evernight, by Claudia Gray
This is a story about vampires, and they go to school to learn about the world now as they may have lost track of time. They’re taught about modern technology and how today’s society works. They book wasn’t breathtaking but it was an easy, enjoyable read.
Evernight ★ ★ ★

Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte
This is a classic about love and how it can pull families apart and make people feel vengeful and lost.
Wuthering Heights ★ ★ ★

Great Expectations, By Charles Dickens
I went into this book with really high hopes that I’d enjoy this, everyone knows Charles Dickens, but unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy it. I didn’t like any of the characters and the plot and writing style just wasn’t for me.
Great Expectations ★

Zenith, By Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings.
This is a serialised ebook. I wasn’t going to read part one, but after seeing raving reviews I decided to buy it. It was an enjoyable 62 page story but I’m unsure if I’ll continue on. Yes, I liked the characters and the world but it wasn’t really captivating. There was a lot of explanation and not enough action or character development to keep me captivated. It was a fine read, but it didn’t leave me gasping for more or thinking about it afterwords, it was just … over. Perhaps it’s because it’s serialised?
Zenith Part One ★ ★

Stargazer (Evernight #1)
This , just like the first novel, was an enjoyable, quick read, but it wasn’t anything exciting. I started to get a little annoyed with some of the choices characters made but I am intrigued by the minor characters so I let it slip.
Stargazer ★ ★ ★image

 

image


7 thoughts on “June Wrap Up

  1. Your thoughts on Wuthering Heights (and your rating) is more or less the same as how I felt about it. I was never really into it, (Cathy is unbearable to read about) but I loved Great Expectations.
    Great reading month! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aw, sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy Miss Peregrine’s. It definitely doesn’t seem like a book for everyone though. I read Zenith too and had similar thoughts. I enjoyed it but because of the serialisation it was so hard to connect with. I feel like it should have been released as one book.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree , Zentih would’ve have been more enjoyable as a whole book. Miss Peregrine’s has a really unique idea using the photographs and the writing was good it just wasn’t my taste. Saying that, I am looking forward to seeing the movie adaptation

      Like

Leave a Reply

