A Court of Mist and Fury : Book Talk and Review

Disclaimer – this Book Talk/ Review contains major plot spoilers

Book Talk ;

The best selling novel follows the life of Feyre and the events of A Court of Thorns And Roses (Book One)

It was really interesting, from a readers point of view, to watch Feyre’s journey as she discovers herself, what she deserves and what she doesn’t need to live a satisfactory life. One of the things that made her experience more difficult was the trauma she deals with after the horrors of Under The Mountain in ACOTAR. As any normal person, she does develop PTSD and this takes a toll on her physical, as well mental wellbeing.

“And I realized—I realized how badly I’d been treated before, if my standards had become so low. If the freedom I’d been granted felt like a privilege and not an inherent right.”
Tamlin, the High Lord of the Spring Court, has decided that keeping Feyre inside is best for her saftey and to conquer her fears. However, this does nothing but isolate Feyre in ways which make her feel as though she is trapped in a predators enclosure, and is not good for her character.

“I was not a pet, not a doll, not an animal.
I was a survivor, and I was strong.
I would not be weak, or helpless again
I would not, could not be broken. Tamed”
Like many, Feyre soon realises that perhaps she fell in love with Tamlin because he was the first person to show her warmth, kindness and provide for her, but the events Under The Mountain have changed both of them so much, that they no longer fit together. This was yet another realistic element to this high fantasy read, and it made it all the more heartbreaking to read about.

“I’m thinking that I was a lonely, hopeless person, and I might have fallen in love with the first thing that showed me a hint of kindness and safety. And I’m thinking maybe he knew that—maybe not actively, but maybe he wanted to be that person for someone. And maybe that worked for who I was before. Maybe it doesn’t work for who—what I am now.”

Sarah J.Maas writes a lot about the history of the Night Court, and usually I’m not that interested in those parts but, she wrote it in such an interesting and beautiful way that I felt inclined to learn more about the world Rhysand lives in. His Court of Dreams and Court of Nightmares.
Through doing this, Rhysand’s character really develops as he is revealed to us as a visionary , rather than the monster he seems to be in ACOTAR. We learn more about his backstory and he is really shaped into a loved and appreciated character, in contrast to the brute before. The nature of Rhysand is very entertaining to read about; his easy , relaxed humour , alongside vulnerability. In this novel – he was one of my favourite characters.

“He thinks he’ll be remembered as the villain in the story. But I forgot to tell him that the villain is usually the person who locks up the maiden and throws away the key. He was the one who let me out.” (Feyre about Rhysand)

There are many new, intriguing, characters that I could go on about forever. We’ve got Mor – Rhysand’s Third in command, a stunning high fae with many hidden secretes. Then we’ve got the second in command, Armen. I don’t know what she is or much about her, but it’s safe to say that she’s badass and scary, alongside loyal to what she believes in. Mass then introduces Cassian and Azriel. Cassian is the boisterous commander of Rhysand’s armies and Azriel is his mysterious spy master who is literally cloaked in darkness. I absolutely adored reading and learning about Rhysand’s friends and how they all came to be where they are. Loyal, trustworthy are just a few of the words used to describe them but they really made the roller coaster of ACOMAF ten times more special.

“The Court of Dreams.
The people who knew that there was a price, and one worth paying, for that dream. The bastard- born warriors, the Illyrian half breed, the monster trapped in a beautiful body, the dreamer born into a court of nightmares…And the huntress with an artist’s soul.”

Rhysand’s and Feyre’s relationship really develops. Sarah J.Maas takes the reader of the journey of mistrust, to friendship, to love and acceptance of the mating bond. I loved how Rhysand knew he was Feyre’s mate from before they met but waited until they fell in love to tell her – if that isn’t respect , I don’t know what it.
This made the book fantastic. It was cleverly written, unexpected but beautiful
“My friend through many dangers. My lover who had healed my broken and weary soul. My mate who had waited for me against all hope, despite all odds.”

One of my favourite elements was the plot twist at the end. I literally couldn’t move for the last part of ACOMAF because it had me close to tears and yelling and freaking out and the ending. Tamil – how could he! Us readers knew he was desperate but risking a war for someone who doesn’t want to me with him? His emotions have severely clouded his judgement.
Then Nesta and Elain – it was horrible to watch Feyre witness the transformation of her sisters, to watch her and we saw Elain being dragged away and Nesta putting up a fight against her. Nesta really becomes a strong woman in this instalment, it’ll be interesting to reading about the wrath she creates in book 3.
And then Feyre made the decision to go with Tamlin and broke the bond. And my heart –
Stopped.
Literally, I thought it was all over , but no – Sarah J.Maas, like a writing God, twisted everything around so that Feyre is now High Lady of the Night Court.
High Lady.
That phrase alone gives me goose bumps.
What a phenomenal ending!

Review

A breathtaking read that takes the reader on a magical journey though the fantasy lands of Sarah J.Maas’ creation. Beautifully written, with twists and turns in every section, keeping the reader folded up between the pages. Nothing short of Phenomenal.

★★★★★

“To the people who look at the stars and wish, Rhys.”
Rhys clinked his glass against mine. “To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.”

All information of Sarah J.Maas can be found on Goodreads and her website.

image


5 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury : Book Talk and Review

Leave a Reply

