May Wrap Up

So, in the month of May, I somehow managed to read a total of 8 books. Yeah, a lot. I’m not sure how I managed this. I have a ton of different opinions on them and I hope you enjoy reading about them.

My first book of the month was Slated, by Teri Terry. This took me a whole ten days to read which is a little longer than my usual one book per week. I admit, this was a cover buy and despite its 4.06 star rating on good reads, I just couldn’t get into it.
Slated : ★

The second book I read was Milk and Honey, buy Rupi Kaur. This is a book of poetry which is 204 pages long and split into four different sections – The Hurting, The Loving, The Breaking, The Healing. The writing Is gorgeous but I have to warn you, there is a lot of discussion of sensitive topics so bear than in mind.
Milk and Honey : ★ ★ ★ ★

Then I went on to read one of my MOST ANTICIPATED 2016 RELEASES A Court of Mist and Fury. This book did not disappoint! I have a talk/review all about it coming soon so keep an eye out for that!
A Court of Mist and Fury : ★ ★ ★ ★ ★

In May I read two poetry books. I don’t usually read poetry but I decided to challenge myself. The first paid off, but the second read left me disappointed. This was Salt, by Nayyirah Waheed. A lot of people love this – it has 4.53 stars on good reads! – but I just couldn’t get into it. I’m not saying the writing was bad, I just didn’t understand it all. This book unfortunately, wasn’t for me.
Salt : ★

I read two eBook’s this month – finally!
The first was Into the Forest, by Freedom Matthews. This offered some insight into the new world that she has written about in her first book. I can’t wait to see what happens next!
Into The Forest : ★ ★ ★ 1/2

The second eBook I read was The Survivor, By Sara Elizabeth Santana. This was a really interesting story as it offered some of the events of The Awakened to be told from Liam’s point of view. It also allowed Liam’s character to develop more and got me excited for the sequel, The Sanctuary, coming at the end of the year which is also one of my MOST ANTICIPATED 2016 RELEASES.
The Survivor : ★ ★ ★ ★

The Rose and the Dagger, By Renne Ahdieh, was my next read and I was a little let down by it. I had such high expectations from loving The Wrath and the Dawn and I guess this book never really fulfilled all the things I hoped it would.
The Rose and The Dagger : ★ ★ ★ 1/2

Finally, I read The Last Star, by Rick Yancey, the final book in the 5th Wave trilogy. I had mixed views already on this trilogy but I did enjoy The Last Star, despite being confused and finding a centain character annoying and it not ending the way I wanted to. I paced through this book in only two days and did enjoy it, flaws and all.
The Last Star : ★ ★ ★ ★

Well that’s it! I hope you enjoyed this wordy wrap up, let me know in the comments what you read in the month of May.
Happy Reading!

* books marked MOST ANTICIPATED 2016 READS can be seen amongst others in my blog post of that title which can be found in the book talk category*

image


12 thoughts on “May Wrap Up

  1. Congrats on reading 8 books! That’s an amazing effort. I really need to read The Wrath & The Dawn and start The 5th Wave series! I wasn’t the biggest fan of ACOTAR, but I’m definitely going to go into ACOMAF with an open mind because everyone has loved it so hopefully I will too 😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

